Spending Review 2010

 :: GENERAL FORUMS :: News

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Spending Review 2010

Post by Poppins on Sun 24 Oct 2010, 1:15 am

So, what does everyone think of the Spending Review announced last week by ol' Gideon Osborne? I know Economics isn't the most interesting subject, but the government's economic policy is going to affect all of us in some way over the coming years.

I live in the North East, and I'm really worried about what's going to happen to the region as a whole. Back in the eighties/early nineties, Newcastle had a rep for being full of scummy Geordies turning to crime because the docks and mines had closed, and who would riot at the drop of a hat, but it has really turned itself around nowadays. Sure, you might still get glass thrown at you on the Shields Road or have to pick your way through the puddles of sick on a Saturday night, but Tyneside as a whole has more culture, jobs, money and self-respect than it did when I was born. A lot of that is due to the Labour government increasing funding to the North East, setting up quangos and departments up here, and the artsy stuff like the Sage and the Baltic.

Based on the Tory's Spending Review, it looks pretty clear that they're going to take all that away from us. It doesn't matter, right? Geordies don't vote Tory anyway, so why bother trying to protect them from the cuts and clawbacks? Out of every region of England*, the North East is going to be hit hardest, in terms of % of jobs and income lost. Tory bastards.

*Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are going to be hit harder than anywhere in England. This figures too, as they don't vote Tory either.
avatar
Poppins
Return To Energiser

Location : Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by kappa99 on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 5:40 am

It had to be done, and very drastically.
It wont hurt "the poor" as the lefty media sources have claimed, it will hit the lazy. The genuinly poor when Labour took over in 97 are STILL very poor while lazy, morally loose people have prospered. It should never be "what can Britain do for me" it should be "What can I do for Britain".

As for the State job cuts, very few jobs will actually belost- the turnover in the state sector is massive and will account for most of the losses.

The people who need anincome boost and protection- the elderly and the truly disabled (not those on crutches on giro day only) are getting their incomes increased. Fals claimants,layabouts and baby factory women will lose out, which is justified.

The reason these cuts HAD to happen is we have no money left. Labour bankrupt this country in a desparate aimto introduce socialist-lite ethics in this country, an over populated public sector and families reliant on government handouts who would continually vote them in. The sensible people in Britain saw sense.

If we didnt have these cuts, the country would be bankrupt, and we would ALL end up outon our asses.
avatar
kappa99
A Flash Flood Of Colour

Location : Scotland

http://thezoneforum.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Guest on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 8:12 am

kappa99 wrote:It wont hurt "the poor" as the lefty media sources have claimed, it will hit the lazy.
Ah Kev.

My Mum could lose her job (she's a teacher) and my Dad has only recently been able to work again. I'm not entitled to EMA, but if I was that'd be taken from me too. I live in London and I have to pay £1.20 a bus journey, twice a day (or more, depending on which class I'm at) or I can get a weekly bus travel card for £16.90. I need about £4 for lunch a day too (seems a lot maybe, but bare in mind I go college from 9am-5pm some days and I'm bang in the City).

I need about £35 a week, just to get to college and eat. My Mum is barely coping as it is. I could possibly afford to work one day on the weekend, but jobs are stupidly hard to get in my area and it'd affect my studies. Please please please explain why we're being "hurt" and about to be hurt more so. Are my family just lazy white-trash slobs?

Make no fucking mistake, Tories do not like the lower class. These cuts undoubtedly hit the 'poor' the hardest, and it's tough to believe all the cuts were just a pragmatic response to the mess Labour made...when have the Tories EVER shown the poor/working class respect? You're Scottish, I thought anyone without a farm/factory above Milton Keynes would know not to vote for these slimers. Obviously The Sun has worked wonders Razz

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by tommygrhcp on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 8:54 am

This really isn't meant to cause an argument but I think that you could change your lifestyle and save that £35/week.
Buy a bike from the tip for £5 and cycle to college. You can do this as I've found cheap bikes before.
I know you study but as a student, I have never found it hard to get a job. I've been down the jobcentre before for part-time jobs and came away with 20 numbers. Followed up 5 and got interviews. I didn't take them because my uni has so many jobs, you just need to ask around, and I ended up getting a job through them.
I really don't think getting a job would affect your studies. You just need to find a balance. I'm doing really well at uni with a few part time jobs going on at different times.
As for the spending cuts... Well I'm glad I came to uni a couple of years ago! I think my choice would have been slightly different if I had to pay £6000 on tuition fees. Or I would possibly just work harder to not be in as much debt... The way they are going to structure the repayments will affect the rich rather than poor too: you only pay it back if you earn £21k+ and apparently only 40% of graduates will earn this anyway.
avatar
tommygrhcp
Anything Can Happen

Age : 28
Location : London

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Guest on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 9:20 am

tommygrhcp wrote:Buy a bike from the tip for £5 and cycle to college. You can do this as I've found cheap bikes before.
I've had two bikes stolen (and 4 locks broken) already doing this. I'm from London, not the Shire. I have looked into bike hire though, and the nearest 'station' to me is about half way between home and college...thus making it pointless. It's a shame, I love cycling, but it's dangerous getting about in London in the winter on two-wheels and I'm not willing to keep forking out on bikes/locks (not that my wallet permits anyway)
tommygrhcp wrote:I know you study but as a student, I have never found it hard to get a job. I've been down the jobcentre before for part-time jobs and came away with 20 numbers. Followed up 5 and got interviews. I didn't take them because my uni has so many jobs, you just need to ask around, and I ended up getting a job through them.
Again, I'm from London. Jobs are very very scarce here and very few are willing to take you on for only a day a week. I had over 25 interviews from June-August and didn't get a single call back. I do still look for jobs y'know, I've even gone for a few late-night jobs (not selling my arse, just stacking shelves and stuff)
tommygrhcp wrote:I really don't think getting a job would affect your studies. You just need to find a balance. I'm doing really well at uni with a few part time jobs going on at different times.
I'm glad you're doing so well, but we probably have very different schedules. I'm willing to work as much as my timetable and body permit. I'll try to explain...
I do 3 intensive A-levels (AS+A2) at college. That's 5 days a week. As well as that I do a language course on Tuesday/Thursday evenings. It's 26 1/2 hours a week. What little time I do have spare (i.e. the weekend) I like to relax and do my work. I'm not trying to blow my own trumpet in any way/shape/form but I think that's a pretty heavy week, especially when you consider all of those subjects require a metric fuck-tonne of reading and coursework on top.

Have any Tories got the cure for laziness? I think I might just be stupid and lazy.

(p.s. I HATE it when people try to patronise me and imply I'm no smarter than a box of Alpen, hence the sharp-reply-which-isn't-really-as-sharp-as-you-think-it-is; I'm about as worked up as a cat drinking milk and playing with yarn here)

(p.p.s If you genuinely weren't trying to take the piss out of me, apologies. It's late and I've not had any fags today)

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by kappa99 on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 8:36 pm

Dont get me wrong, middle and lower people will struggle, yes, but its not as bad as the media make out. Theyr pre-programmed to create news, so they can writer about it, and sell papers/gain viewers. Its almost as if they want a riot just to be able to write about it.

On the whole though, we seem to have a totally skewed vision of what poverty is. 40 years ago, in this country, an inside toilet was a rarity. So was a bath that was conencted to the mains. People worked 6 and 7 days as standard.

We seem to view "poverty" as only having 1 holiday a year and a tiny, portable 40 inch TV.

People need a reality check.
avatar
kappa99
A Flash Flood Of Colour

Location : Scotland

http://thezoneforum.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by warnerbro on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 8:44 pm

Try living at Avenue Road with no downstairs heating, that was poverty!
avatar
warnerbro
Buzzer

Age : 27
Location : Leicester

http://www.facebook.com/warnerbro

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by tommygrhcp on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 9:01 pm

hahaha, i wasnt trying to take the piss out of you... i dont think i even did take the piss out of you! I can see you had taken that post the wrong way but sadly I don't live in the Shire either. I live in plymouth city centre and we have crack dens and alcoholics everywhere, im not saying its worse than parts of london though.
This is off topic but have you ever had a D-lock busted? they're meant to b pretty hardcore. I always leave my bike in my room anyway, gets pretty crowded but keeps it safer.
Shame about the jobs. Plymouth has loads around so i cant really say anything about that (obviously they're all cleaning, and unskilled labour stuff). I don't think you should assume you have more on than me though. I'm a 3rd year marine biologist and if you go to uni you might realise how big that metric fuck tonne of reading can get.

I totally agree with you on the skewed perception of poverty. This is possibly caused by the media churning out loads of shit programmes on the american dream so everyone grows up thinking they're going to be rich and famous then assume they are in poverty when they're not. Then again, there are a lot of programmes on the developing world recently so I dont see why some people have this view.
avatar
tommygrhcp
Anything Can Happen

Age : 28
Location : London

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Guest on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 9:02 pm

kappa99 wrote:we seem to have a totally skewed vision of what poverty is. 40 years ago...
I know what you mean. It's frustrating when some cunt with a house and a garden, a car and enough to go away at least once a year mopes about saying how poor they are. If that's poor then I'm literally days away from sucking dick for rusty coins.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Nia on Tue 26 Oct 2010, 10:25 pm

As far as my neck of the wood's concerned, God knows what's gonna happen. In South Wales especially, the majority work in the public sector (my Mum's a(n extremely underpaid) nurse and my Dad's an (overpaid) NHS manager). South Wales used to be absolutely booming what with our primary and secondary industries but of course the Thatcher years basically butchered that and we've had to build up our services sector, only to hear that maybe, we'll be worse off and jobs will be cut. Well, we will be worse. My mum works in a very understaffed district nursing office and it's bittersweet that she has to work overtime.

Luckily Wales will still get free prescriptions (thanks to Carwyn Jones, he's alright) and we're fighting for a cap on tuition fees and it's easier to get a grant here. What pisses me off is while budgets are slashed for education and healthcare, the Plaid knobs are ranting on about the heritage budget, preserving the Welsh language and all that shit ("everyone in Wales should speak Welsh and ONLY Welsh") when there are about 15 more Welsh medium comprehensives now than there were about 20 years ago and the Welsh language (though as scarcely spoken as it is) is getting stronger and stronger. Wales would never survive without England.

Bit off the point but whatever...
avatar
Nia
Jonny Sniper

Age : 23
Location : Swanseaa

Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Guest on Fri 29 Oct 2010, 11:34 pm

tommygrhcp wrote:This is off topic but have you ever had a D-lock busted? they're meant to b pretty hardcore.
Yup, the last time a bike got pinched I used a D-Lock on the front wheel. It was a double-mechanism lock and cost me £40...yet, from what I saw, the wanker(s) cut through it like butter. I'd argue that the location where you lock your bike is much more important then the locks themselves. Some wanker somewhere knows how to get through any lock, but won't have the time or balls to do it in broad daylight outside a busy tube station, for example.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Guest on Fri 29 Oct 2010, 11:37 pm

niwebb wrote:Bit off the point but whatever...
I've just been discussing bike locks. I think you're ok haha.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Spending Review 2010

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 :: GENERAL FORUMS :: News

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum